PM3 vs PM4 - How important is heart rate in work out?

Maintenance, accessories, operation. Anything to do with making your erg work.
KDreese
Paddler

PM3 vs PM4 - How important is heart rate in work out?

Post by KDreese » February 18th, 2009, 7:59 pm

I am thinking of getting a C2 D and wondering about the different PM's. I plan to use the C2 for weight loss and toning, so not for racing etc. I think the PM3 should meet my needs, however I am new to working out and wondering how important a hear rate monitor is? For an extra $150 is it worth it to buy a PM4 and have the built in heart rate monitoring and the ability to download the info to a computer? Also, does the PM4 come with everything you need to do the heart rate monitoring (looks like no watch but the belt is enough?)?

I guess overall I am not sure what use you get out of monitoring your heart while working out. Is it best to have it so you can see that you are in your desired heart range (e.g. under or over working your heart)? Being new to this whole thing I would hate to get a PM3 and then decide a couple of months later that the heart rate monitor would have been really useful... Any help would be greatly appreciated.

KD

djh
1k Poster

Post by djh » February 18th, 2009, 10:16 pm

Doug
64 yrs/176 cm/74⅞ kg/8400 km
Lifetime: Image

Citroen
SpamTeam

Post by Citroen » February 18th, 2009, 10:32 pm

djh wrote:The PM3 will handle a heart monitor.
The PM4 will handle either Polar HRMs with the dongle on the long wire or Suunto/Garmin ANT HRMs wirelessly. You get the best of both worlds with a PM4.

The way PM3/PM4 records HR data is an interesting subject and it doesn't do it in quite the way you'd expect and possible not in quite the way you want it to.

I find it more useful to record HR data using a HRM watch.
Dougie Lawson
61yrs, 172cm, Almost LWt (in my dreams).
Twitter: @DougieLawson

KDreese
Paddler

Post by KDreese » February 19th, 2009, 12:02 am