Cold Water

read only section for reference and search purposes.
[old] Hal Morgan

Training

Post by [old] Hal Morgan » November 17th, 2005, 9:33 pm

First winter of rowing. I am a novice in the sport. I row a single on a mountain lake. I get in from the beach area in the summer and fall. Now the water is stinking freezing cold to my legs and feet. I will board at the crew dock. My wife told me that hypothermia is going to affect me if I fall in agian. I have tipped over. I can not get back in the boat. I tried and tried with no luck. I just swim it to shore and get back in. I don't like to row near shore. I like to stay at least 50 meters off the bank. How long do I have in cold water? I wear a Life jacket every time I go on the water. So should I hang it up until spring?

[old] Byron Drachman

Training

Post by [old] Byron Drachman » November 17th, 2005, 9:52 pm