Model C vs. Model D

Maintenance, accessories, operation. Anything to do with making your erg work.
JPFreire
Paddler

Model C vs. Model D

Post by JPFreire » July 21st, 2020, 2:49 am

I was recently able to secure a model c Pm2 rower in pretty flawless condition for $450. Shortly thereafter I was able to find a model d V1 Pm3 for the same price though it needed a bit of TLC (missing bolt, Missing battery cover, missing cam lock, fly wheel was a mess, chain hasn’t been maintained). This model is the Grey/white one with a blue rail made in 2006.

I have a small apt and I’m new to purchasing an erg but I’ve been cycling on and off for years. I wanted another thing to do a more full body workout and as soon as I saw the machine could break down in two for storage I was in. I rowed a little when trying out for crew in college and continued to enjoy it recreationally (even though I didn’t make the team!)

I’m always comfortable spending money on things I know I can sell after sprucing up, and I enjoy repairing things and making them better. (Chances are I can do so without taking a loss.)

Here’s the thing.

It just seems that the materials in the model c are better quality. There’s no unnecessary paint on the model c and most of it is made from either metal or a better quality plastic than what I can tell.

So my questions:
1. Is the “feel“ different on the D (v1) and is it that much quieter or well built?
2. did major, meaningful improvements happen after the v2 change?
3. If I got a pm5, a new handle, and maybe the quiet kit, for the model C would it still be that inferior to the model D?
4. Most superficially I prefer things that blend in and don’t make my home look like a gym. I like the lighter colors of the D for that reason but maybe I bite the bullet and spray paint or vinyl up mine to be white to go with more of my furniture? Does anyone have experience on this?