Lifting vs. Lots of Rowing for 500 times

General discussion on Training. How to get better on your erg, how to use your erg to get better at another sport, or anything else about improving your abilities.
luckylindy
2k Poster

Lifting vs. Lots of Rowing for 500 times

Post by luckylindy » December 24th, 2010, 1:16 am

This may seem like a dumb question, but I'm wondering if it would be better to focus on lots of muscle-building exercises to improve my 500m time instead of focusing on lots of distance and intervals? I've been rowing for almost 2 months (hit 400,000m yesterday), and while my longer times have steadily come down, my 500 and LP remain about the same (although I still haven't added in intervals or fast training yet).

My thinking is that, at some point, my sprint times would severely hamper my ability to improve my longer distance times. I have been at Crossfit gyms and watched muscular guys of the same height sit down and pull a 1:20 500 after only a couple sessions on the erg ... seems like strength counts (not sure how it translates to distance though).

Since extensive distance rowing would make it harder to build muscle, would I be better suited to keep my rows short (no more than 10k) and focus on strength/muscle building for a while?
6'1" (185cm), 196 lbs (89kg)
LP: 1:18 100m: 17.3 500m: 1:29 1000m: 3:26 5k: 18:58 10k: 39:45

ThatMoos3Guy
2k Poster

Re: Lifting vs. Lots of Rowing for 500 times

Post by ThatMoos3Guy » December 24th, 2010, 2:13 am