rowing w/o monitor

Maintenance, accessories, operation. Anything to do with making your erg work.
ccme
Paddler

rowing w/o monitor

Post by ccme » October 26th, 2015, 10:24 pm

I am new to rowing and I just joined a park district gym that has a concept2. It's monitor is broken. I watched some technique videos on youtube, but without a program to follow on the monitor I'm wondering how hard to pull, how many spm, and for how long should a session be?
ccme

Citroen
SpamTeam

Re: rowing w/o monitor

Post by Citroen » October 27th, 2015, 3:51 am

It's not impossible to row without a monitor. Just use a wall clock and all of your training will be time based. The ISS interactive program works with time based workouts and heart rate for measurement. http://indoorsportservices.co.uk/training/interactive

It's not difficult for your gym to do the right thing, PM3s, PM4s and PM5s can be fitted on any B, C or D rowing machine (Es have always had a PM4 or now a PM5). They just need to order one from Concept2. It's part of their periodic maintenance (which they should be doing on all of their gym machines). If they won't do that you should seriously consider changing to another gym where they care for their machines.

jamesg
Half Marathon Poster

Post by jamesg » October 27th, 2015, 5:30 am

hard to pull, how many spm,
About half as hard as your max; about 20-25 strokes a minute (lower in the range if tall); and all of them long. Keeping the strokes long lets us produce plenty of work by engaging the legs.

Don't rush in... The erg is for CV exercise, and we have to warm up before our CV systems can do their best. It'll take about 5-10 minutes to see sweat if you warm up slowly, but then you'll see plenty. Carry on for another 15-20 minutes. Not too hard, the ideal state is sweaty but able to go.

1 kg of sweat is worth about 500 kCal, so if you weigh before and after you know how much work you've done.