Why can't I lose weight?

Rowing for weight loss or weight control? Start here.
Kibi146
Paddler

Why can't I lose weight?

Post by Kibi146 » December 8th, 2006, 12:49 pm

Hi, I am somewhat new to the concept 2 world. I got my rower after my 3rd child was born and my husband took a job in another part of the country. I stayed in New England to finish the school year - I am/was a high school teacher. Due to lack of time and energy (working, selling the house, raising 3 children under the age of 4, and daily life) my rower accumulated lots of dust instead of meters. We finally got relocated 5 months later in Madison Wisconsin. I got on my rower the week we moved into the house and I have been rowing 10K at least 5 days a week for the past month. I am desperately trying to lose the rest of my baby weight - about 30 lbs. The scale keeps going up rather than down. I am getting frustrated but don't want to quit. Does anyone have any thoughts or advise. My diet is okay. I sneak at least 2 servings of candy in a day and have a beer at night, but other than that, I am pretty careful about what I eat. I appreciate any thoughts or advice.

jamesg
Half Marathon Poster

Post by jamesg » December 8th, 2006, 2:19 pm

You look fine on the Output side, so maybe have to think about the Input. Try replacing the candy and the beer with apples and oranges, or vegetable soup.
08-1940, 183cm, 83kg.
2024: stroke 5.5W-min@20-21. ½k 190W, 1k 145W, 2k 120W. Using Wods 4-5days/week

michaelb
2k Poster

Post by michaelb » December 8th, 2006, 2:58 pm

I have a couple of thoughts. If you are rowing a 10k 5 days a week, you are doing great. Don't you feel better and feel like you are in better shape? I don't see how you can't be improving, so listen to your body.