New User Experience

General discussion on Training. How to get better on your erg, how to use your erg to get better at another sport, or anything else about improving your abilities.
tahiles
Paddler

New User Experience

Post by tahiles » August 1st, 2011, 10:50 am

Just got my rower late last week and "learnning" how to row correctly.

Yesterday I only did 500 meters and today 1000 meters.

The muscles holding me back right now are located in the very top of my thighs, like where you'd feel for something in your pocket. Either I've never used these before or it's been a very long time. After 1000 meters this morning I have acheieved about 90% exhaustion in this area.

Did anyone else experience this when they first started? Or am I just a wimp?

Thanks in advance......Tim

Bob S.
Marathon Poster

Re: New User Experience

Post by Bob S. » August 1st, 2011, 4:05 pm

tahiles wrote:Just got my rower late last week and "learnning" how to row correctly.

Yesterday I only did 500 meters and today 1000 meters.

The muscles holding me back right now are located in the very top of my thighs, like where you'd feel for something in your pocket. Either I've never used these before or it's been a very long time. After 1000 meters this morning I have acheieved about 90% exhaustion in this area.

Did anyone else experience this when they first started? Or am I just a wimp?

Thanks in advance......Tim
With no other data, the distances don't tell much.

Pace?
Age?
Weight?
Condition?

Bob S.

tahiles
Paddler

Post by tahiles » August 1st, 2011, 4:11 pm

I'm 55, 230 lbs and yes fairly out of shape.

But honestly....you need this information to tell me if your upper thighs hurt when you started?

That was my question...................

Bob S.
Marathon Poster

Post by Bob S. » August 1st, 2011, 4:17 pm

tahiles wrote:I'm 55, 230 lbs and yes fairly out of shape.

But honestly....you need this information to tell me if your upper thighs hurt when you started?