Target Time

read only section for reference and search purposes.
[old] I Love Crew

General

Post by [old] I Love Crew » September 30th, 2005, 8:37 pm

I'm new to rowing, and I want to set realistic ergometer goals for myself. I am 15 years old, 5' 7.5" tall (171.45 cm) and weigh 156 lbs. (71 kg). I need to set goals for:<br /><br />3x 4 min<br />3x 12 min<br />1x 20 min<br />2k<br />6k<br /><br />Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

[old] jamesg

General

Post by [old] jamesg » October 1st, 2005, 12:55 am

Those are training distances, except 2k, so the idea of goals is meaningless. <br />2k is too long for you at 15, and useless for training anyway, so forget it, it's an Olympic test distance.<br />Suggest you use the erg at most only for it's design purpose (CV training) when the water's frozen. <br />If you are rowing, learn to row first, your coach will know which end of the oar is which.<br /><br />Your goal is to stay alive, kicking and injury free til year 2100.

[old] samdkrc

General

Post by [old] samdkrc » October 1st, 2005, 9:22 am

It's tough to set goals unless you've completed those pieces before, so a few questions,<br />have you ever done a 2k and if so what was your time?<br />and have you moved into rowing from a different sport? <br /><br />Otherwise i'd say aim for an 8:00 2k to start with aiming to move the goal around 10 seconds everytime you beat it. For 6k around 26:00, with a 500m split of 2:10 as this would be (roughly) the same as doing 8:00 for 2k. A 20minute piece at around the same level would mean going between 4650m and 4700m (2:08 per 500m)<br />

[old] Robywar

General

Post by [old] Robywar » October 4th, 2005, 7:30 pm