Mid Atlantic Sprints - Compete Or Just Watch?

read only section for reference and search purposes.
[old] jschuman

Competitions

Post by [old] jschuman » January 12th, 2006, 11:45 am

I am new to erging - been doing it since the end of November. I am a 33 yr old guy and live in the Northern Virginia area, very close to where the Mid Atlantic Sprints are held (in Alexandria, VA). My PB for 2000m is 7:53.5.<br /><br />I was thinking of going to the competitions on Feb. 4th just to observe and see what they're like, but I'm wondering if I should just enter for the heck of it and have fun.<br /><br />What do you think? I'm new to the erging community - what event would I enter? (I'm assuming 30-39 Open 2000m). Will I be a total embarassment with that time? <br /><br />Thanks!<br /><br />- Jeff

[old] dennish

Competitions

Post by [old] dennish » January 12th, 2006, 12:08 pm

My advice and its only that, my thinking. Jump in and do. Make a connection between your workouts where you are the only one who knows how much you are doing and a public statement about what you are doing. Results, viv a vis winning or besting a mob of people is of little consequence. Lay down your best effort and then you have nothing but satisfaction goin' on. Having been on both ends, winning and playing, I got tons more satisfaction out of being my best than fussing about position in a race. The ranking will either happen or it won't, but knowing you gave it the best you had lasts a very very long time. The placing, the ranking, the comparisons are incidental to the dignity of your effort. my 2 cents. dennis

[old] jschuman

Competitions

Post by [old] jschuman » January 12th, 2006, 12:16 pm